leadership and board

Senior Staff

Kathryn Callnan is president and CEO of The Cedars and recently celebrated her 40th anniversary with the organization. She began her work with the community’s elderly at The Jewish Home for Aged on Portland’s Eastern Promenade, before the nursing home moved to Ocean Avenue in 1991 and was renamed The Cedars. Kathy is a visionary leader and a passionate advocate for Maine’s seniors. A recipient of the Dr. Herbert Shore Young Executive Award for her accomplishments in the field of long-term senior care, Executive Board member of Leading Age Maine and New Hampshire, Kathy draws on her years of experience as a registered nurse as well as her years of executive leadership in senior care as she charts the course for our community.

Angela Hunt is the Chief Operating Officer at The Cedars.  With an MS in Physical Therapy from Boston University’s Sargent College, Angie has published several articles involving pulmonary rehabilitation.  Angie has been with The Cedars since 2000, managing clinical operations and is the Administrator for The Osher Inn, The Rehabilitation Center and The Skilled Care Center. Angie oversees all aspects of The Cedars community, including The Atrium, independent living at The Cedars. Angie is the recipient of the 2015 Excellence in Leadership Award from LeadingAge Maine and New Hampshire for her tireless work, incredible self-direction and unwavering commitment to seniors, staff and the long term care non-profit community.

John Watson, Chief Financial Officer, has been with the Cedars since 1987, overseeing financial services and human resources. Prior to coming to The Cedars, he attended Middlebury College, Northeastern University’s graduate school for public accounting and worked for several years in both public and private accounting. The recipient of the 2015 Outstanding Advocacy Award from LeadingAge, a national association representing 6,000 non-profit aging-services organizations throughout the United States.  The award honors John Watson as a tireless advocate at the State level for educating legislators, executive branch officials, and fellow nursing facility administrators regarding Maine’s current system of reimbursing nursing homes.   Through his governor-appointed position on the Commission to Study Long Term Care, John worked with State Representatives to introduce a bill for a more equitable allocation system for care provided in nursing homes. In doing so, John was integral in reforming Maine Medicaid’s system of nursing home reimbursement and thereby assuring continued access to care for Maine’s oldest and frailest.

Board of Trustees   

Richard Borts

Kathryn Callnan

Jennie Clegg

James Freilinger

Elizabeth Geller

Sidney Geller

George Marcus

Hilary Rapkin

Barry Zimmerman


James Broder

Stuart Gilbert, MD

Judge Louis Kornreich

Alan Levenson

Stephen Levine

David Lewis

David Turitz